3 tips to extend your durance when swimming freestyle

Processed with VSCOcam

Every freestyle beginner faces with short durance during swimming. My first time only last

20m, my legs a\were frozen, my heart bounced so fast, my breath couldn’t get enough oxygen. I kept pausing in the middle of the pool to get my self back in, relax legs muscles, then continued.  And, now, after 2500m of freestyle, I can finish the entire pool length, 50m, with no pause. They key to get that are

1. Well-prepare: warm up, have enough calories before, drink enough water before. these element is fundamental to every kind of exercise.
2. Grasp enough breath: to provide enough oxygen for your muscle, and prevent acid lactic, which makes you feel too tired to move.
3. Move efficiently: in freestyle, your leg is the engine to push you forward, make sure you move your legs with right technique (see in-depth guidance here), and my tips is don’t push to much with your arms, move your arms in a way that make you feel comfortable to breath, effortlessly, so that you can save more oxygen and energy for your legs.

That’s it, and always motivate yourself with powerful statement: “I’m almost there!”, “I can do it!”, simple but works so well. Because your best swimming coach is yourself!

My swim super short story:
I was a big fan of breaststroke for more than a decade. Though I know how to swim freestyle ten years ago, I could never finish my exercise with 100% freestyle. I was too tired, I grasped heavily.

A month ago, I went back to my swimming routine, once every two days. I was so proud of finishing 1000m with breaststroke. However, someone enlightened me with the benefits of freestyle, which out-weighted breaststroke, I decided to get out of my comfort zone, I decided to exercise only freestyle.

